Vassilakopouolos Re-Elected FIBA Europe President

13 May 2006

George Vassilakopoulos earned a second mandate as FIBA Europe President on Saturday in Munich, Germany at the 2006 General Assembly.

Vassilakopoulos was the only candidate after Sarunas Marciulionis announced his withdrawal just before the election.

Mr. Vassilakopulos received 48 votes from the 49 national federations in attendance with one abstention.

His mandate runs from 2006-2010. 

"I want to respect sport values on the basis of the pyramid of national federations, leagues and clubs," Mr. Vassilakopulos said to delegates prior to the election.

"Let’s continue together, without exceptions and exclusions of the rich or poor, powerful or weak, important or insignificant. We need to do this and if we work hard our destiny will be secure in our role to further develop the success of FIBA Europe and European basketball.”

Jan Berteling of the Netherlands was re-elected FIBA Europe treasurer for a second consecutive term.

The following individuals were elected to the Board:

Mr. Ivan Bodrogvary, HUN                                                             
Mr. Sergey Chernov, RUS                                                               
Mr. Cyriel Coomans, BEL
Mr. Turgay Demirel, TUR 
Mr. Predrag Danilovic, SCG
Mr. John Goncalves, GIB 
Mrs. Marion Grethen, LUX
Mr. Manuel Fernandes, POR 
Mr. Walther Kaszelik, AUT
Mr. Peter Klingbiel, GER  
Mr. Boris Lalic, CRO
Mr. Fausto Maifredi, ITA 
Mr. Yvan Mainini, FRA
Mrs. Birgitte Melbye, DEN 
Mr. Antonio Mizzi, MLT 
Mr. Irmi Olmert, ISR
Mr. Marek Palus, POL
Mr. Milos Prazak, CZE 
Mr. Olafur Rafnsson, ISL
Mr. Jose Luis Saez, ESP
Mr. Oleksandr Volkov, UKR 
Mrs. Lena Wallin Kantzy, SWE 
Mr. Asterios Zois, GRE

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook