The European Cup For Women's Champions Clubs



EuroLeague Women is the main women's club basketball competition in Europe.

First established by FIBA in September 1958, the inaugural European women's club competition consisted of 10 teams and came about following the success of an equivalent tournament for men's clubs earlier in the same year. The men's tournament consisted of 46 games, with over 100,000 spectators turning out to watch.

At the initial tournament Slavia Sofia of Bulgaria were crowned champions, beating Soviet Dynamo Moscow 64-40 at home and then 44-34 on the Muscovites court. The two-game home-and-away format for the final remained until 1976, before changing to a single-game format the following year.

During its formative years, the tournament was dominated by Daugava Riga from Latvia (then Soviet Union) who appeared in 16 finals between 1960 and 1977, winning all 16 of them. The Latvian club maintains two records that are difficult to see being bettered, with 18 overall titles, as well as the record for winning 12 consecutive championships.

In the nineties, the competition underwent two key changes. The first was the introduction of the Final Four in 1992; and the second was the rebranding of the competition in 1996, when it went from being known as European Cup for Women's Champion Clubs to what it is known as today: EuroLeague Women.

The Final Four format was given its farewell in Ekaterinburg in 2011, when Halcon Avenida defeated Sparta&K 68-59; before the 2011/2012 season heralded in a new direction for EuroLeague Women with the Final Four replaced by a Final Eight tournament.

Istanbul were granted the honour of hosting the first Final Eight tournament where Spanish club Ros Casares prevailed victorious, defeating Rivas Ecopolis 65-52 in the final.In its second year, the EuroLeague Women Final Eight moved to Ekaterinburg, where tournament hosts UMMC Ekaterinburg prevailed 82-56 over Fenerbahce in the final.

In 2014, Ekaterinburg was once again the host of what would ultimately be the final edition of the Final Eight, with the tournament destined to return to a Final Four format for this season. After shocking the home-town favourites UMMC Ekaterinburg in the semi-finals, Galatasaray then went on to become the first Turkish club to lift the title, defeating cross-city rival Fenerbahce 69-58 in the gold medal game.






1959 Slavia Sofia (BUL) Dynamo Moscow (URS) 63-40 (36-19) Sofia (BUL)
34-44 (13-22) Moscow (URS)
1960 Daugawa Riga (URS) Slavia Sofia (BUL) 62-28 (20-9) Sofia (BUL)
49-43 (23-21) Riga (URS)
1961 Daugawa Riga (URS) Slovan Orbis Prague (TCH) 76-77 (31-27) Prague (TCH)
72-37 (33-21) Riga (URS)
1962 Daugawa Riga (URS) S.K. Leningrad (URS) 55-38 (26-19) Riga (URS)
48-44 (19-24) Leningrad (URS)
1963 Slavia Sofia (BUL) Slovan Orbis Prague (TCH) 52-57 (27-34) Prague (TCH)
60-49 (31-29) Sofia (BUL)
1964 Daugawa Riga (URS) Spartak Sokolovo Prague (TCH) 63-58 (27-34) Prague (TCH)
40-43 (24-26) Riga (URS)
1965 Daugawa Riga (URS) Slavia Sofia (BUL) 49-31 (15-20) Riga (URS)
52-62 (27-36) Sofia (BUL)
1966 Daugawa Riga (URS) Slovan Orbis Prague (TCH) 62-39 (26-24) Riga (URS)
73-56 (39-28) Prague (TCH)
1967 Daugawa Riga (URS) Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) 56-41 (27-26) Riga (URS)
55-52 (26-25) Prague (TCH)
1968 Daugawa Riga (URS) Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) 76-45 (41-20) Riga (URS)
58-47 (33-21) Prague (TCH)
1969 Daugawa Riga (URS) SC Chemie Halle (GDR) 62-48 (24-23) Riga (URS)
82-57 (34-24) Halle (GDR)
1970 Daugawa Riga (URS) G.T.S. Wisla Cracow (POL) 61-45 (33-22) Riga (URS)
59-42 (34-25) Cracow (POL)
1971 Daugawa Riga (URS) Clermont Clermont-Ferrand Uni Club (FRA) 72-59 (40-32) Clermont-Ferrand (FRA)
62-56 (37-19) Riga (URS)
1972 Daugawa Riga (URS) Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) 80-59 (32-25) Riga (URS)
86-59 (40-28) Prague (TCH)
1973 Daugawa Riga (URS) Clermont Clermont-Ferrand Uni Club (FRA) 64-44 (34-24) Clermont-Ferrand (FRA)
83-60 (40-34) Riga (URS)
1974 Daugawa Riga (URS) Clermont Clermont-Ferrand Uni Club (FRA) 96-67 (47-34) Riga (URS)
69-53 (34-24) Clermont-Ferrand (FRA)
1975 Daugawa Riga (URS) Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) 87-59 (36-35) Riga (URS)
72-56 (39-31) Prague (TCH)
1976 Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) Clermont Clermont-Ferrand Uni Club (FRA) 55-58 (30-34) Clermont-Ferrand (FRA)
77-57 (32-22) Prague (TCH)
1977 Daugawa Riga (URS) Clermont Clermont-Ferrand Uni Club (FRA) 79-53 (39-24) Barcelona (ESP)
1978 G.E.A.S. San Giovanni Sesto (ITA) Sparta CKD Prague (TCH) 74-66 (36-37) Nice (FRA)
1979 KK Crvena Zvezda Belgrade (YUG) B.S.E Budapest (HUN) 97-62 (47-28) La Coruna (ESP)
1980 Sisport Fiat Turin (ITA) Mineur Pernik (BUL) 75-66 (36-33) Wittenheim (FRA)
1981 Daugawa Riga (URS) KK Crvena Zvezda Belgrade (YUG) 83-65 (44-29) St. Nazaire (FRA)
1982 Daugawa Riga (URS) Mineur Pernik (BUL) 78-56 (41-21) Cologne (GER)
1983 A.S. Zolu Vicenza (ITA) DJK Agon 08 Düsseldorf (GER) 76-67 (39-41) Venice (ITA)
1984 Levski Spartak Sofia (BUL) A.S. Zolu Vicenza (ITA) 82-77 (40-32) Budapest (HUN)
1985 A.S. Fiorella Vicenza (ITA) Daugawa Riga (URS) 63-55 (34-30) Viterbo (ITA)
1986 Primigi Vicenza (ITA) DJK Agon 08 Düsseldorf (GER) 71-57 (42-26) Milan (ITA)
1987 Primigi Vicenza (ITA) Dinamo Novosibirsk (URS) 86-73 (50-40) Thessaloniki (GRE)
1988 Primigi Vicenza (ITA) Dinamo Novosibirsk (URS) 70-64 (43-32) Düsseldorf (GER)
1989 Jedinstvo-Aida Tuzla (YUG) Primigi Vicenza (ITA) 74-70 (37-35) Florence (ITA)
1990 Trogylos Enimont Priolo (ITA) C.S.K.A. Moscow (URS) 86-71 (45-37) Cesena (ITA)
1991 Conad-Unicar Cesena (ITA) Arvika Basket Arvika (SWE) 84-66 (45-33) Barcelona (ESP)