Board Members Withdraw Right To Vote

20 November 2011


From left to right: Dino Meneghin; Olafur Rafnsson; Jean-Pierre Siutat; Advisor for Sport to the President of the French Republic, Sophie Dion; France’s Minister for Sport, David DouilletNar Zanolin; Ingo WeissPARIS, FRANCE - The members of the FIBA Europe Board representing the countries bidding for the 2015 EuroBasket and EuroBasket Women have indicated that they will abstain from the vote to determine the host countries of the two events, as a matter of principle.

During a meeting in Paris, France, this weekend, FIBA Europe Board members from Germany, France, Italy, Croatia and Hungary all announced they will voluntarily withdraw from casting a vote during the process to decide which country organises the 2015 editions of the Championships.

The rights to host the two events will be awarded during the next FIBA Europe Board, in Munich, Germany, on 17th and 18th December.

France, Germany, Italy and Croatia have put together a common bid for EuroBasket 2015, pitting them against a bid from Ukraine.

Hungary and Belarus have both placed bids to organise the EuroBasket Women 2015.

*Pictured (from left to right): FIBA Europe Board member, Dino Meneghin ; FIBA Europe President, Olafur Rafnsson; French Basketball Federation President, Jean-Pierre Siutat; Advisor for Sport to the President of the French Republic, Sophie Dion; France's Minister for Sport, David Douillet; FIBA Europe Secretary General, Nar Zanolin; FIBA Europe Vice-President, Ingo Weiss.


Merry Christmas And A Happy New Year!22.12.2011
Ukraine Will Host EuroBasket 201518.12.2011
FIBA Europe Board Convene In Munich18.12.2011
Hungary To Host EuroBasket Women 201518.12.2011
Watch Live: Host Country Announcement17.12.2011
Watch Live: Host Country Announcement17.12.2011
FIBA Europe Informed of Bid Withdrawal14.12.2011
Last 16 Field Completed14.12.2011

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook