EuroLeague, EuroCup Women Drawn

09 July 2011
2011/12 Club Season

EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women 2011/12 Draw - FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson
FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson welcomes attendees at the EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women 2011/12 draw ceremony

The Draw for Women's Basketball elite club competition, the 2011/12 EuroLeague Women season, was concluded Saturday in Munich, Germany.

This year's line-up features three newcomers- CCC Polkowice from Poland, French team BLMA Montpellie and Seat Szese GYÖR from Hungary - and a new competition format with three Regular Season groups and a Final Eight replacing the Final Four.

The Regular Season will tip off on 12th October and will conclude on 1st February.

A best-of-three Eighth-Final playoffs series in February will then decide the Final Eight participants.

The Final Eight will take place in a pre-determined venue, between 28th March -1st April 2012.

The host venue will come from one of the EuroLeague Women participants and it will be chosen after a bidding process, in October this year.

For the Regular Season the 23 participating clubs were divided in two groups of eight teams and one group of seven.

Defending champions Perfumerias Avenida Salamanca were drawn in Group B, the only group with seven teams, along Turkish powerhouse Fenerbahce, Nadezhda of Russia, Schio of Italy, Uniqa Euroleasing Sopron of Hungary, Tarbes of France and Polkowice.

The 2011 runners-up, Sparta&K M.R. Vidnoje are in Group C while the 2011 Final Four participants UMMC Ekaterinburg and Ros Casares Valencia meet each other in Group A.

You can download the Regular Season groups here or you can visit the official pages of EuroLeague Women on

EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women 2011/12 Draw - FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin
FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin going through the competition systems of the EuroLeague Women and the EuroCup Women in the new season


EuroCup Women Regular Season Groups

The Draw for the EuroCup Women was also made Saturday in Freising

31 clubs from all corners of Europe have entered the 2012 season.

They were divided in eight Regular Season groups (seven groups of four teams each and one group with three teams).

Holders Elitzur Ramla were drawn in Group H, the only one with three teams, together with Spartak Noginsk (RUS) and Mondeville (FRA), while 2011 finalists Arras are in Group E alongside Chevakata (RUS), St. Katelyne (BEL) and SISU (DEN).

The EuroCup Women Regular Season will start on 3rd November and conclude on 8th December. All postseason playoffs, from the Eighth-Finals to the Finals will be played over two legs (home and away).

The Final will be played over two legs on 15th and 22nd March.

To view the Regular Season groups please click here or visit the official pages of EuroCup Women on



Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook