Small Countries Commission In San Marino

20 July 2011
FIBA Europe News
The FIBA Europe Small Countries Commission
The FIBA Europe Small Countries Commission

While the U18 European Championship Division C in San Marino is in full swing, the FIBA Europe Small Countries Commission came together for a meeting that was also attended by FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson and FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin.

Alongside the abolishment of the Division system in FIBA Europe's senior competitions, the members were informed that the Board of FIBA Europe approved the new name for the senior competitions (formerly known as Division C) to be "European Championship for Small Countries Men/Women", from 2012.

Starting from 2012, the competition will go under the name of European Championship for Small Countries Men/Women.
The Commission further discussed the possibility of extending the existing conditions for city states (Andorra, Gibraltar, Monaco, San Marino) to senior competitions, and whether the inclusion of resident players from other nationalities or resident inside a radius of 20km from the city state should be limited to a certain number. It was decided that members submit their thoughts to FIBA Europe Offices by 30th September 2011.

In terms of the development of the youth programmes in small countries, the possibility of holding the U18 European Championship Men/Women annually was discussed and will be examined further after feedback by all members.

The "small countries" for 2012/13 were identified as follows:

Follow Us On Twitter

Like Us On Facebook